Tournaments SectionImage

 2018 Tournament List
 Layritz Park Field Map.
 Interlock Park Locations.
 2018 Tournaments.
 9/10 Provincial BB Sched.
 Provincial 9/10 Baseball
 Provincial 9/10 BB Teams
 Little League Historical.
 2016 Page
 2015 Page
 2014 Page
 2013 Page
 2012 Page
 2011 Page
 2010 Page
 2009 Page
 2008 Page
 2007 Page
 2006 Page
 2005 Page
 2004 Page
 2020 Canadians
 2020 Manager Selection



Layritz 2008 Tournament Page

2008 11/12 Baseball Tournament Team 


2008 9/10 Baseball Tournament Team 

 The 2008 Layritz 9/10 tournament team's results were a classic example of a glass half-full, half empty scenario.  Expectations were not too high as only one player (Shaun "O" Henry) had Major’s baseball experience ( the lowest number of any team in the tournament). This team was made up of almost all Minors players and only one player was returning from last season's District 7 Championship team --Mason "Carts" Carter.  For this team to be successful, hard work, focus, and great effort was paramount.
  After the selection of the team June 21st and six solid days of practice, thirteen boys played their first game on Saturday, June 28th versus
Hampton. Layritz scored first and often in a see-saw affair that ended in a 13-9 win for Layritz.  Great pitching from Adam "Bonkers" Bontkes and Dawson "Big D" Hess preserved the victory.  Next a win over Lakehill meant the team needed to at least split their games versus Beacon Hill and Central Saanich to guarantee a top- 4 finish and place in the semi-finals.  We started well against Beacon Hill but unfortunately could not muster any offence against their ace and ended up losing 9-6.  Against the Central Saanich team, the bats came ALIVE and the must-win game became a reality in a 12-4 victory. Another victory in an exhibition game with BC tournament host OakBay led to a first place showdown with Esquimalt.  In this game, the true ability of the boys was evident to all.  Behind masterful pitching of Jacob "Slamms" Potter, Daniel Barrodale, and Nick "Siggy" Seginowich, and awesome batting from EVERYONE (especially James "Spidey" Baxter who was 4-5), the Layritz team defeated the previously unbeaten Esquimalt team 12-2 in four innings. In fact, only sixty pitches were needed to complete the four inning game. From hoping for a top-4 finish and a playoff berth, the coaches and players found themselves finishing the round robin in first place.
  A loss in the final round-robin game left
Hampton in fourth place where they were to be our opposition in the playoff round.  Layritz started well and had leads of  1-0 and 3-1 after the first two innings. Unfortunately, a few uncharacteristic lapses on defence and a lack of batting led the way to a 8-3 Hampton victory.
  In 24 hours, Layritz went from convincingly defeating the eventual champions
Esquimalt ( they beat Hampton 17-7) to being ousted from the tournament.  But that is sports and most importantly, the players handled the loss with class. Other players on the team were Justice Carter, Tristan Janosik, Nathan Webb, Sam Gilbertson, and Tyler Lepine. Coaches Dave Potter, Troy Carter, and Randy Hess are very proud of all the players and thank all the parents for their wonderful support of the coaching staff and the players.

2008  9/10 Fastball Tournament Team 

Congratulations to Layritz's 2008 Girls 9/10 Softball Tournament Team in winning the District 7 Championship! This is an age group of girls that you will see and hear great things from for many years ahead as they climb through Layritz Minor Softball. The team went undefeated throughout the tournament and won the final 14-5 against Beacon Hill. They were led by a star studded pitching staff of Hailey Young, Kaitlyn Tucker and Jenna Saulnier and backed by the amazing defence of Alyssa Zicari, Raven McKinney, Rachel Harrop, Courtney Cowan, Morgan Skinner, Michelle Aleman, Georgia Martin, Lindsey Wyatt, Daria Patterson and Natalie Cavallin. On offence, the team was built on speed and they kept relentless pressure on the opposition in each and every inning of every game in the tournament. The coaching staff of Dean Skinner, Paul Tucker and Ray Young couldn’t have asked for a better group of young girls to work with as their passion for the game came through right from the opening practice. Thank you so much girls, we are very proud of you. A final special thanks to the parents as the commitment we asked from your families was huge and you were there supporting the girls every step of the way along this tremendous journey.

2008 City Minor Baseball Team 

For the third straight year, Layritz Little League is the City Minor's champion!!
After going undefeated in the in-house regular season, Medi-chair continued their winning ways at the City Minor's baseball tournament. 
   Dawson Hess hit a double as the tournament's first batter and the team never looked back!!  Convincing wins over Esquimalt, Beacon Hill,and National, gave Layritz the first seed in their pool setting up a semi-final game against the hosts from Central Saanich.  The hard fought game went back and forth before Layritz took control and won.
   The final game was against a sharp looking Hampton team.  Hampton, batting first, saw their first four players reach base with two doubles and two singles, scoring three runs.  From there, the defence of Layritz took over and Hampton never scored again in the inning OR THE GAME!!  Time after time, and inning after inning, the batters of Layritz came through in the clutch when runners were in scoring position. 
   Three plays were the difference in the game.  In the top of the second inning after a leadoff triple, Hampton attempted to steal home as the ball was thrown back to the pitcher. An alert Dawson Hess quickly threw the ball to catcher Jacob Potter who was already preparing for the throw after seeing what was happening.  A great throw and tag later, and the leadoff triple was now an out at home plate.  In the top of the third, first baseman Alyssa Zicari caught a pop-up in foul territory. Seeing the runner caught off the base at first, she raced back to the bag and narrowly beat the runner for an unassisted double play. In the bottom of the fourth inning with two outs, Tristan Janosik hit the ball to left center field to score two runners (Jonathan Sills scored the final run) to ensure the Hampton comeback could never materialize.
Final score, Layritz 13, Hampton 3.

   Many thanks to Central Saanich Little League, who hosted a great tournament.

   Proud coaches are Dave Potter, Randy Hess, and Mark Baxter.  Special
thanks to Dan Webb for the MEDIchair sponsorship and assistance.  Other players on
the team were James Baxter, Nathan Webb, Mackenzie Foxall, Ryan Perron,
Matthew Henderson, Gareth Crisp....

...but we know then as Big D, Slamms, Webber, Spidey, Grounder, Tiger,
Truck, Hendo, Blazer, Rhino, and Slash.

Mini Minor Tournament